The Smoking Problem


Friends, I’m not really that much of a smoker. In fact, if I have a whole pack of cigarettes in front of me and I am alone, the likeliness that I will take and smoke one is just about zero percent.

However. And this is a huge, please forgive me for my problem, kind of ‘however’. When I am around other people who are smoking (which is rare, so it’s okay) and there is a whole pack of cigarettes in front of me…

I will smoke a cigarette EVERY time someone else lights one. Every single time. And this has been a problem of late only because the people I hang out with are ALSO social smokers. So it goes like this.

“Do you want a cigarette?”

“If you have one, I’ll smoke one, too.”

And the problem is; we’re all trying to be so polite that each of us ends up smoking as many cigarettes as we all have. Which is generally too many cigarettes, especially if you’re under the belief (as you should be) that even one cigarette is too many cigarettes.

I am firmly against you smoking if you are as well. Habits and addictions are not good things to form, especially if they are ones that have the potential to kill you. Speaking of warnings, the cigarette packages no longer say ‘may cause lung cancer’ anymore. Nope.

We have reached a whole new level of douchebaggery since ‘not everyone’ gets lung cancer from smoking cigarettes. The new Surgeon General’s warning is: “Caution, cigarettes contain Carbon Monoxide.”

I shit you not. This is what they say. Not ‘this could be toxic’ or ‘please stay away if you value your life’…no, it’s ‘I hope you know what Carbon Monoxide is because, bitch, you’re gonna die.’

So there was your informative guide to my deadly habits and a small rant about cigarette companies being soul-sucking douchebags.

Today, Alexa and Alice came over and we hung out and talked out the songs we’re going to be performing at the Renaissance Faire this weekend. Tomorrow, we are going on an adventure to either Eau Claire or Menomonie, and then setting up camp at the Ren Faire grounds and prepping the site as much as we can.

On Saturday, the festival begins and I will be spending two hours shucking corn during that day instead of gallivanting about and having a good time. But it’s money and I cannot protest money making at this time in my life, so that is the plan.

You may not hear from me at all until after the weekend, but, I assure you…

You will survive. I’m a bad addiction to have anyway. Too many times I will just make you go cold turkey and no one likes the drawbacks of not having me around.

Love ya!

About mylifeinheartbeats

Telea is an aspiring Musician who spends too much time aspiring to be a Writer who thinks she's a Comedian. There's not much more to know, except for everything. Telea has a tendency to not think before she speaks or acts. She enjoys chocolate, long walks on the beach, and talking about herself in the third person. She wants to get to know you, so please send her your Name, Address, and SSN. Telea promises that, though she has indeed committed one count of Lewd and Lascivious behavior (to be tried under a court of law), she is a good person and will not intentionally harm you/expose herself to you/hate you for your stupid perspectives/axe-murder you. Telea believes in the greater good, Nutella, peace, free love for all, and snuggles. She chooses Bacon over you, unless you come bearing bacon. She is a fat woman trapped inside a curvy woman's body. She is not for sale unless the price tag you put on her has something to do with world peace. She will sell herself for world peace. She hopes in the deepest of her heart places that you will enjoy her blog and find reason to follow it. Telea thanks you.

2 responses »

  1. I started out as a social smoker, then proper smoker, then weed, then LSD, then ecstasy, then heroin, cocaine & crystal meth. Nah I stopped at proper smoker, well…kinda… you know 🙂

    But seriously, if you ain’t addicted yet then stop. I got addicted to cigarettes & it took me five years to quit. Damn filthy habit. It stinks, it costs money aannnddd oh yeah it’ll kill you.

    Back to the fun and light, have a great weekend x

    Reply
    • I believed you until the crystal meth. ;D

      I trust myself to not become addicted. Also, my budget doesn’t allow me to buy myself cigarettes. So it all works out until I get a proper job and then it’s all about self control.

      Also I hate the taste of cigarettes a lot and, over a few years of trying it out, I have never quite become accustomed to it.
      But yeah, stopping as soon as possible anyway.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

