The Sore Finger Syndrome and Renaissance Faires (Again)


Hello lovelies and welcome to another day of ‘Telea Incessantly Talks About Herself and Expects Others to Not Only Pay Attention but Also to Adore Her’. The first order of business is probably to shorten that title by just a hair.

I have been bettering myself. Slightly. A little bit. Other than the stress of the day every day which causes me to, sadly, cave and smoke a cigarette, I am revitalizing myself in many small ways. 

“Telea, you’re only eighteen…you don’t need to ‘revitalize’ yourself. Stop being an idiot.”

I must not be doing a great job of revitalizing myself because my imaginary talky people are still down on me. Anyway, enough with the stupid, not even humorous, ranting. We’re actually going to talk about me bettering myself.

Yesterday I heard a song on the radio that I grew up listening to. This song, in case you were wondering, is titled ‘One Headlight’ by The Wallflowers and is so wonderfully sad that I just have no words for how it has impacted my life.

So, regardless of the two bar chords the song decided to throw at me, I printed off the lyrics and chords and began practicing them on my dad’s guitar (because mine is horridly out of tune and also needs new strings).

Less than 24 hours later I can easily transition to these bar chords and they sound almost pretty good and also I rock at singing so the song is, in general, coming together really well. However, the fingers on my left hand are so achy that I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to play another bar chord in my life.

For those of you who have not played stringed instruments and know nothing of the craft:

When you play the instrument a lot, the fingers on the hand pressing down on the strings to play chords or fingerpick generally get sore and irritated (and sometimes blistered) from practicing so much. An easy solution for me would be to actually pick up my guitar and play it every day instead of skipping out for weeks or even months but apparently I suck.

So that covers sore fingers and now we’re moving on to Renaissance Faires. Again. (Last year was a whole hullabaloo and you’re probably not interested).

So this weekend is the second annual ‘Ren in the Glen’ or ‘Glenfest’ festival (redundant). It takes place in Glenwood City, Wisconsin, and if you live nearby (within 200 miles, I mean)… you should definitely attend.

It’s a small faire right now, but, come on, it’s only in its second year and that means that you would have more time to spend/interact with the actors (such as myself) and no big lines for the vendors or food stands.

So I’m mostly excited because I get to camp out there with all of the actors this year (because I am, in fact, an actor this year) and we’re going to stay up and sing English Folk songs and have a fire and it’s going to be the height of excellence.

I also went Goodwilling yesterday and found my outfit, which is kind of…Renaissance Bavarian Tavern Wench-y? Here’s a photograph:

Image

 

The only part that I didn’t buy yesterday was the corset (fifteen dollars) and the necklace (handmade by my friend Grace). The rest came to a total of 21 dollars (yes, that includes the shoes) and is pretty perfect. Also yes, I understand that it’s a terrible photo of my face but that’s what you get when you’re up for two nights straight and then spend the entire day shopping, which is a pastime I do not enjoy one bit.

So yeah, that’s my life right now.

Love ya!

About mylifeinheartbeats

Telea is an aspiring Musician who spends too much time aspiring to be a Writer who thinks she's a Comedian. There's not much more to know, except for everything. Telea has a tendency to not think before she speaks or acts. She enjoys chocolate, long walks on the beach, and talking about herself in the third person. She wants to get to know you, so please send her your Name, Address, and SSN. Telea promises that, though she has indeed committed one count of Lewd and Lascivious behavior (to be tried under a court of law), she is a good person and will not intentionally harm you/expose herself to you/hate you for your stupid perspectives/axe-murder you. Telea believes in the greater good, Nutella, peace, free love for all, and snuggles. She chooses Bacon over you, unless you come bearing bacon. She is a fat woman trapped inside a curvy woman's body. She is not for sale unless the price tag you put on her has something to do with world peace. She will sell herself for world peace. She hopes in the deepest of her heart places that you will enjoy her blog and find reason to follow it. Telea thanks you.

Leave a Reply

