The Monologue


This is my senior year of high school, and much must be accomplished in order for me to feel like it was a successful one. It’s a year of ups and downs, spins, turns, whirls, twirls, zazzles, frizzles, fandangles, loop-di-la’s, la-di-dah’s and, finally, ziggamaroos.

One of the main things I have set out to achieve is to claim a gold medal at the State level for Forensics (not the dead bodies; the speaking competition). In previous years, I have won Bronze and Silver, and been denied of a Gold Medal year by the school when the Semester overlap caused my grades to appear worse than they were.

This is my last chance for greatness, and so I am over-thinking it to an extreme. I have chosen to participate in the Solo Acting category, and must find my perfect script that, with an introduction, runs less than eight minutes long.

I must also have this script memorized in the next five days, which is where the problem lies. I have so many things to do (and not much time to do them in) that I am becoming absolutely overwhelmed. Already, I have sacrificed the great idea of directing a play this year. It was something I had been aspiring to since I became a high-schooler, but sadly there isn’t enough time for everything in my life.

So, this script. I have narrowed it down to two selections, both dramatic monologues. One of them is the confessions of a serial killer, which would require a great deal of facial control. The other is a girl named Sonya telling the police her side of the story from the night her friend disappeared whilst tripping ‘Shrooms.

I actually had the perfect script, but it was denied because it was on the topic of LGBT, which is apparently still not tolerated in these parts. People really need to grow up. I was told that ‘that piece would cause many people to feel uncomfortable’. I responded: “Damn right it will. If people aren’t put out of their comfort zones, they will not be inspired to change. If you allow someone to stay in their box with their beliefs, they will never change.”

I was harshly turned down, proving yet again that even positive change is scary and that many people would rather be boxed up with their comforts than exposed to the world. Sad day.

Anyway, I must go choose which script I’m going to use and rehearse it twenty million times (at least). I also have to find an adventure. I’m getting antsy.

Love ya!

About mylifeinheartbeats

Telea is an aspiring Musician who spends too much time aspiring to be a Writer who thinks she's a Comedian. There's not much more to know, except for everything. Telea has a tendency to not think before she speaks or acts. She enjoys chocolate, long walks on the beach, and talking about herself in the third person. She wants to get to know you, so please send her your Name, Address, and SSN. Telea promises that, though she has indeed committed one count of Lewd and Lascivious behavior (to be tried under a court of law), she is a good person and will not intentionally harm you/expose herself to you/hate you for your stupid perspectives/axe-murder you. Telea believes in the greater good, Nutella, peace, free love for all, and snuggles. She chooses Bacon over you, unless you come bearing bacon. She is a fat woman trapped inside a curvy woman's body. She is not for sale unless the price tag you put on her has something to do with world peace. She will sell herself for world peace. She hopes in the deepest of her heart places that you will enjoy her blog and find reason to follow it. Telea thanks you.

One response »

  1. Yer old auntie Jan

    Completely unfortunate that you were unable to go with the LGBT script. Fortunately, and I will quote a rather famous Minnesota-born singer, “These times-they are achangin’.” So many huge gains have been made–but we obviously have a ways to go… Good luck on your choice and go for the gold!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

