The Stalking of [Innocent?] Musicians and Other Stories from Beyond the Grave


Wow, another one of those nights where I manage to get almost nothing done. Do you wanna know what I did last night? Well, almost nothing, though I did manage a wee bit of creepiness, and I’ll tell you that story right away here at the tippy-toppity of a new morning for all of you day-walkers.

For me, it’s about midnight and time to get to sleep, meaning that again, I’m posting this as a final thought to my day in which I did a splendiforous amount of nothing. Here goes creepy story.

I have a friend on Facebook (Ohh, so creepy; Telea has friends (NO SHUT UP THIS IS NOT THE POINT OF THIS STORY)) and he is pretty cool. His name is not to be mentioned. Anyway, he’s really cool not only because he’s actually a cool guy but because he’s one of those people who is musically talented and in the right area to know some small big ticket names.

How did I become friends with this man on Facebook? Well, it just so happened that we had similar things liked, and when one of those things posted a picture (being vague because I really don’t remember) he commented and I commented back and then ZIP-ZAP-WOWWEE a friendship was born.

It came to light only later that his name could be found in the credits of The Avengers and that he had a band that has aired on the radio more than once. So I flipped out just a little bit. So now you know that backstory.

Now we get into the tricky little details of what I posted yesterday about not Facebook Stalking and let me tell you, I succeeded gloriously up until around 6 this morning, when he tagged the name of someone that I recognized (not personally) in a status and she proceeded to like said status.

I then became ever-so curious and decided to see what else he had been holding out on me, scrolling through every single one of his 700+ friends (and for the love of Asgard I do hope he doesn’t read this blog because it is very obvious to whom I’m referring) and taking a gander over to the profiles of people who fit certain criteria, listed below.

1. Attended Berklee School of Music in Boston

2. Was very attractive.

3. Was Average or better in the looks department with music or acting listed as the profession. 

You have to understand that I am almost desperate to get into the music industry and the more people I know or know of, the better. Anyway, my creeping isn’t the worst part of it. In fact, I went even further across the line of ‘this is okay’ to the line of ‘let’s hope I’m not turning into a potential stalker/serial killer’.

When I had weasled my way down to 5-8 people that looked really and particularly interesting/successful/ridiculously good looking, I proceeded to send each of them an individual email which did, in my defense, apologize for being creepy.

I asked questions about music, inquired as to how their college experiences had treated them (pertaining to Berklee or anywhere in the UK), and wished them well. I don’t know if I’ll actually get any replies, but hey, worth the effort unless, in fact, they alert the authorities.

I don’t think they will because I’m at least 50 percent certain that I threatened none of them with being beheaded by paper clip, and even if I had, it was definitely one of those passing thoughts.

Anyway, it’s time to get to bed, I hope my pathetic rambling story has actually managed to entertain you somehow. As always, thanks for reading and may the Telea be with you (unless you’re a minor, in which case just stay safe out there).

Love ya!

About mylifeinheartbeats

Telea is an aspiring Musician who spends too much time aspiring to be a Writer who thinks she's a Comedian. There's not much more to know, except for everything. Telea has a tendency to not think before she speaks or acts. She enjoys chocolate, long walks on the beach, and talking about herself in the third person. She wants to get to know you, so please send her your Name, Address, and SSN. Telea promises that, though she has indeed committed one count of Lewd and Lascivious behavior (to be tried under a court of law), she is a good person and will not intentionally harm you/expose herself to you/hate you for your stupid perspectives/axe-murder you. Telea believes in the greater good, Nutella, peace, free love for all, and snuggles. She chooses Bacon over you, unless you come bearing bacon. She is a fat woman trapped inside a curvy woman's body. She is not for sale unless the price tag you put on her has something to do with world peace. She will sell herself for world peace. She hopes in the deepest of her heart places that you will enjoy her blog and find reason to follow it. Telea thanks you.

2 responses »

  1. I am not on the Facebooks (as you kids call it) so I don’t really know what the proper etiquette is, but isn’t that kind of exactly what FB is for? (Well, it’s actually to mine your personal information to sell to advertisers, but let’s pretend it’s entirely for the making of friends.) If people make their personal information publicly available, as long as they’re approached in a friendly and respectful manner, I can’t imagine what the issue would be. Seems the worst they would do is not answer.

    In the spirit of internet transparency: you RTed something I tweeted, you seemed nice and funny, I started following your blog here, and even sometimes leave comments. I don’t think you find that offputting, I’d be surprised if the folks you wrote to did either.

    Unless you really threatened them with paperclip decapitation. That’s some spooky-ass stuff right there.

    Reply
    • Wow my goodness, it appears that twitter IS good for something. I never knew that before! Thank you for your input on the situation! I always kind of treated Facebook like a site for friends rather than people stalking strangers, but I’m glad I have back up.
      I don’t believe I actually did threaten anyone, though I do sometimes do things without thinking about it, and I received a really nice reply from one of them that was very interested in talking and kind of completely agreed with everything you said about what Facebook is!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

