The Dance of Doctor Who Addiction


Okay, back to nerdspeak considering the fact that it has been a terrible day and I want to immerse myself in things that make me (relatively) happy. Since I happen to be in the process of having no life, I have decided to live vicariously through the lives of fictional characters. This has proven to be an effective way to avoid reality, but also an effective way of making reality seem oh-so really ridiculously sad and terrible.

I have just finished all four seasons of Torchwood, which is a spin-off of Doctor Who that follows the life of Captain Jack Harkness, the beautiful, Omnisexual, Immortal, time-traveling Captain who is also the head of Torchwood and ridiculously good-looking. The only problem is that when you become a fixed point in time (meaning that you cannot die), you live a thousand lives that aren’t oh-so-great and you fall in love with a thousand people that you have to watch die.

Which is, in fact, one of the reasons that Jack is so in love with The Doctor, considering that, to our best knowledge, he also has some trouble with the whole dying thing. The reason I’m giving this background is because I am so wanting to pull a Captain Jack Harkness and scream:

TAKE ME AWAY, DOCTOR!

I guess I’ve gotten myself a little too immersed into the Fandom, considering the fact that I can’t even really think about Jack Harkness, Rose Tyler, The Ninth Doctor, The Tenth Doctor, and many other characters without either experiencing profound sadness or actually bursting into tears.

I was so caught up in one episode of Torchwood that the distress I was feeling for Captain Jack Harkness caused me to have a bloody nose. I’m not even lying. I was bleeding spastically from the nostrils, crying, and trying to wipe up said blood. 

I have no excuses. I am a die-hard and I am also one of those poor, sad believers that hopes that there really is a Doctor and that he will come to earth and that I will see him. I don’t even need to be his companion, but come on…I would die for that.

Anyway, enough of my moaning and groaning. This is my life right now. Obsessions with things that aren’t real because the things that are real are just stressing me out way too much to have to think about more than I already do.

As always, I love you!

About mylifeinheartbeats

Telea is an aspiring Musician who spends too much time aspiring to be a Writer who thinks she's a Comedian. There's not much more to know, except for everything. Telea has a tendency to not think before she speaks or acts. She enjoys chocolate, long walks on the beach, and talking about herself in the third person. She wants to get to know you, so please send her your Name, Address, and SSN. Telea promises that, though she has indeed committed one count of Lewd and Lascivious behavior (to be tried under a court of law), she is a good person and will not intentionally harm you/expose herself to you/hate you for your stupid perspectives/axe-murder you. Telea believes in the greater good, Nutella, peace, free love for all, and snuggles. She chooses Bacon over you, unless you come bearing bacon. She is a fat woman trapped inside a curvy woman's body. She is not for sale unless the price tag you put on her has something to do with world peace. She will sell herself for world peace. She hopes in the deepest of her heart places that you will enjoy her blog and find reason to follow it. Telea thanks you.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

