The Love Letter Initiative.


Last night, I wrote a letter to my dearheart girlfriend in reply to a letter I received yesterday afternoon. She asked why people didn’t write letters as much, and I was reminded of that magic you feel when you receive a hand-written letter from someone.

I used to have a lot of pen-pals that I would write to quite frequently. That faded out with the introduction of the internet into my life when I was fourteen years old. Myspace and Facebook consumed my life, and I no longer saw a need for writing letters.

Which is sad, because letters are lovely things that shouldn’t be forgotten. I wish that I could write a love letter to everyone in the world, because I imagine their curiosity, excitement, and joy when they opened the letter that was neatly addressed to them and found words of praise inside.

So last night, instead of writing just one letter, I wrote four. One to my girlfriend, one to my friend Trey, and two to people who sent me their addresses when I posted about writing love letters on Tumblr.

It was the best feeling ever, to just let a volley of emotion fly into the world, hoping that whoever awaited the letter on the other side would smile and feel that magic of a kind letter. But I want to take it a little bit farther. I want to write more than four letters. I want to write letters to people I don’t know, and I want to write letters to people that I want to know.

I know this post isn’t funny at all, and some of you may be wondering why I would add something more to the list of things that I already do, but this just feels important.

So, for the entire month of December, if you email me your address, or the address of someone you know that you feel deserves a letter, I will write them one. All of the letters will be hand-written and individual. You don’t have to say who it is that I’m writing the letter to. Just give me a name (or an alias) and an address and I will send the letter.

I am sorry to say that this only applies within the United States, as I don’t have any envelopes or stamps for international mailing. I send my love to all of you that aren’t living in America. I don’t love you any less. (REVISION: I WILL NOW BE ABLE TO SEND MAIL OUTSIDE THE US, THANKS TO MY MUM’S LARGER AMOUNT OF KNOWLEDGE ON INTERNATIONAL POST. YES, I CAN AND WILL SEND A LOVE LETTER TO LITERALLY ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD THAT HAS AN ADDRESS. THANK YOU.)

Please please PLEASE send me addresses. This feels so important to me, you don’t even know.  It would be quite lovely to send you or someone you know a love letter.

You can send any addresses to my work email: mylifeinheartbeats@gmail.com

I will send you a confirmation email that I got your address, and everything will be good.

Question of the day: What is the most romantic gesture you have ever received from somebody?

Love ya!

About mylifeinheartbeats

Telea is an aspiring Musician who spends too much time aspiring to be a Writer who thinks she's a Comedian. There's not much more to know, except for everything. Telea has a tendency to not think before she speaks or acts. She enjoys chocolate, long walks on the beach, and talking about herself in the third person. She wants to get to know you, so please send her your Name, Address, and SSN. Telea promises that, though she has indeed committed one count of Lewd and Lascivious behavior (to be tried under a court of law), she is a good person and will not intentionally harm you/expose herself to you/hate you for your stupid perspectives/axe-murder you. Telea believes in the greater good, Nutella, peace, free love for all, and snuggles. She chooses Bacon over you, unless you come bearing bacon. She is a fat woman trapped inside a curvy woman's body. She is not for sale unless the price tag you put on her has something to do with world peace. She will sell herself for world peace. She hopes in the deepest of her heart places that you will enjoy her blog and find reason to follow it. Telea thanks you.

2 responses »

  1. ‘When I’m in my twenties’… Jesus. I feel old.
    Anyway you forgot to mention your fabulous body can do the splits. That, my dear, is a sure-fire ticket to stardom.

    Reply
    • You may have accidentally commented on the wrong post, but I know where it was supposed to go, so it’s all good! Haha indeed it can, and without even the need for stretching! I feel terrible for being so naturally flexible and not using those talents when there are little girls out there who abandon their dreams of dancing because they can’t bend. 😛

      Reply

Leave a Reply

