December the Second, Mental Health Days, and Original Dixieland


Welcome to December, my dears. Oh wow, it’s funny to think about this being the last month of 2012 (and, if the Mayans have it right, the last month of the entire history of the world). It feels like just yesterday that I was giving Lover her New Year’s kiss and promising myself that this year would be better than the last one.

I guess in some ways, that happened. I did a lot of things I had never done before, met a lot of new people, loved a lot of things. But as my die-hard followers know, there were also a lot of downfalls. I think we can talk about the regrets and stuff of the year as we get closer to the end of it, though.

Let’s talk about where I was yesterday, as I’m sure some of you are wondering. I think it’s important for me to explain the importance of December 1st to you, first.

Three years ago, I got fatally sick with H1N1, more commonly known as the Swine Flu. I spent a month in Children’s Hospital in St. Paul, Minnesota with what the Doctors called: H1N1 with Strep A Pneumonia Complications. I was fifteen years old.

Apparently, one complication of Strep A Pneumonia occurs as a large sack of pus that forms on the side of your lung. This sack is referred to as an ‘Empyema’, and it is pretty bad news. Basically, what will happen is that this sack of puss will form around an infected spot on your lung. It will then begin growing and hardening.

If left to it’s own devices, the sack will slow in growth, but continue to harden. The firmer it gets, the more deadly it is. Why? Because every day that it is inside of you, not only is it infecting the area around it and causing your body to shut down, but also consistently working its way to the consistency of cement, which becomes almost impossible to remove.

Don’t worry too much, dears, Empyemas are a really rare occurrence. However, people who develop them, without any other symptoms present, have about a one in a million survival rate if they are left undiscovered for a bit. Not only did we catch mine super late (as in, they guess it started developing in late September and was finally removed mid-November), but I also had all the other sickness going around.

So, pretty much, when I asked the doctor to give it to me straight, he told me there was pretty much a zero chance I was going to live. Welp, that’s a kick in the Empyema, right?

So, now follows the long story of how I spent a month in the hospital, took control of my life, had major surgery, suffered a lot, lost almost all of the blood in my body, had my heart completely stop beating twice, and then survived and went home. You’re welcome for being a fighter.

Why am I telling you all of this? Because December 1st, 2009 was the day I was finally released from the hospital and allowed to go home after 29 days in what I can only describe as a sterile hell.

Yesterday, instead of posting a blog, I decided not to get any work done. Instead, I attended a dance competition as a ‘Dance Team Manager’ and then Lover came over to sleep over. We did cute ‘Old People’ couple things, like listening to Original Dixieland and Classic Jazz, drinking tea, discussing books and quotes, and patching my quilt.

We’re the cutest, I swear. So, onto the very last topic. Original Dixieland. This is like that music you hear in old-timey movies, or The Notebook. It’s the music you imagine playing in a black and white movie scene of a small but bustling 50’s town where everyone is enjoying themselves.

It’s generally strong in light saxophone, cheery piano, and old-time classic voices. It’s darling, and I love it. I think the best part is that the sound quality is designed to sound like it’s coming from an old radio, so everything is just perfect.

I can’t stop listening to it, and I don’t think I even want to. It makes everything better. So, if you’re so inclined, you should check it out. Sorry for the long post today, but it just felt necessary.

My question of the day is: What is a hardship you have faced that you or someone else didn’t expect you to overcome?

Love ya!

About mylifeinheartbeats

Telea is an aspiring Musician who spends too much time aspiring to be a Writer who thinks she's a Comedian. There's not much more to know, except for everything. Telea has a tendency to not think before she speaks or acts. She enjoys chocolate, long walks on the beach, and talking about herself in the third person. She wants to get to know you, so please send her your Name, Address, and SSN. Telea promises that, though she has indeed committed one count of Lewd and Lascivious behavior (to be tried under a court of law), she is a good person and will not intentionally harm you/expose herself to you/hate you for your stupid perspectives/axe-murder you. Telea believes in the greater good, Nutella, peace, free love for all, and snuggles. She chooses Bacon over you, unless you come bearing bacon. She is a fat woman trapped inside a curvy woman's body. She is not for sale unless the price tag you put on her has something to do with world peace. She will sell herself for world peace. She hopes in the deepest of her heart places that you will enjoy her blog and find reason to follow it. Telea thanks you.

Leave a Reply

