Life’s Little Luxuries and Blogging for Peace of Mind


Good Morning, fellow Bloggians! I hope all of you have had a good week, as we are wrapping it all up here. Or starting a new week, to some, as time zones and also beliefs that Sunday is the start of the week and not the end. Weirdos.

I want to address something that I’ve been thinking about before I go all funnyman on your asses today. I’ve realized that my blog has become such a large part of me and who I am that on days when I don’t post, I feel a little emptier.

My parents say that it is because I have become addicted to the internet and I cannot live without it, and that is a little bit true in some ways, I suppose. But no. There are days when I don’t blog, but I’ve still been on the computer all day (my bad). 

I really think that it’s because this blog helps me think through things. Yeah, some times all I’m doing is talking about pancakes and hangovers, but sometimes I’m actually dealing with some serious issues. That may not be obvious right off the bat, since I try to make everything humorous, but it’s not supposed to be obvious. It’s just supposed to be there.

For those people who read and enjoy my blog, I must really thank you for all you’ve done for me. Really! Knowing that someone is interested in hearing what I have to say is one of the best feelings in the world, and you give me that. You all deserve massive Telea hugs. Really, you do.

I blog for peace of mind, happiness, and fulfillment, whether I’m discussing that one time with the police, falling off dams, my insomnia, or just filling up the page with random words. Fellow Satanists (Ahem, I mean bloggers), I want to know if you feel the same way? Why do you blog? What do you feel like you get from blogging? What did you expect when you started a blog? 

Moving on, I want to discuss with you the luxuries in life that we tend to overlook. The reason why this is a discussion is that we are so privileged that we don’t even realize it. No really, if you are reading this blog right now, you’re more privileged than a lot of people, and that’s NOT me being narcissistic again.

So I want to tell you about five little things that, if looked at in a different perspective, can bring a little bit of joy to every day. There are more than five, in reality. There are hundreds of tiny things you can smile at, but this blog is already getting really long, so let’s stick to five.

1. Brushing your teeth. Oh my Asgard, it’s like a minty mouth massage. So many people just brush their teeth because they have to brush their teeth, instead of wanting to brush their teeth. Think about it for a second. First World Society deems it necessary for you to gently massage your mouth twice a day. HOW GREAT IS THAT?! I get these three minutes twice a day to just treat myself to something nice. It’s wonderful!

2. Having a cup of tea. This is so underrated. Some people never have tea, or only on occasion. Others have it every day and begin to overlook its joys. No, sir! Think about the fact that you actually have the choice to drink something tasty with no calories in it as many times as your supply of hot water and tea bags allows (which, in my house, seems almost infinite). You can even add a touch of honey. Or lemon. Or sugar. Or cream. The possibilities are endless. 

3. The daily shower. People who go to work every day are the most common ones to overlook this joy. They nip in and out of the shower because they’re unclean  and not because a well-taken hot shower causes an endorphin rush the size of Texas. The fact that we seemingly have a right to take a shower doesn’t seem to change the way they look at it. The scariest thing is shower efficiency. I really don’t mean how long it takes you to shower. You could have a five minute shower and still have found enjoyment. It’s about the business-like attitude. Ridiculous. Enjoy it, for Asgard’s sake.

4. Taking a Poop. Oh come on, you knew I was going to say it. Honestly, is there anything better than a nice, satisfying poop? The fact that society doesn’t want to think about pooping is silly. What I mean by that is What the fuck do you mean girls only poop once a week?! WHAT FRESH HELL IS THIS? No, I refuse. A daily poop is not only very healthy, but also satisfying on a physical level. Some people even find it emotionally satisfying (no joke) because they imagine that with their shit, their daily worries are going down the pipe, too. Nice way of thinking about it, yeah?

5. Eating. It really doesn’t matter what you eat. You could be consuming the same rice cake, apple, and glass of vitamin-rich orange juice every morning for three years. You should still thoroughly enjoy it. Really. Some people don’t get the opportunity to eat food, and you’re doing it just for nourishment? We have all of these choices, and it doesn’t matter. You have FOOD! And it’s edible. WHY ARE YOU NOT ENJOYING THAT FACT?

So, my challenge to you is to spend an entire day realizing all of the awesome things you have. Really enjoy eating that nasty casserole your grandmother thinks she can still cook. Take a little extra time brushing your teeth. Make time for a cup of tea. Feel the hot water from your shower rushing over you. Do it, not for me, but for you. I can guarantee that life will seem just a tad brighter.

Love ya!

About mylifeinheartbeats

Telea is an aspiring Musician who spends too much time aspiring to be a Writer who thinks she's a Comedian. There's not much more to know, except for everything. Telea has a tendency to not think before she speaks or acts. She enjoys chocolate, long walks on the beach, and talking about herself in the third person. She wants to get to know you, so please send her your Name, Address, and SSN. Telea promises that, though she has indeed committed one count of Lewd and Lascivious behavior (to be tried under a court of law), she is a good person and will not intentionally harm you/expose herself to you/hate you for your stupid perspectives/axe-murder you. Telea believes in the greater good, Nutella, peace, free love for all, and snuggles. She chooses Bacon over you, unless you come bearing bacon. She is a fat woman trapped inside a curvy woman's body. She is not for sale unless the price tag you put on her has something to do with world peace. She will sell herself for world peace. She hopes in the deepest of her heart places that you will enjoy her blog and find reason to follow it. Telea thanks you.

2 responses »

  1. Yer old great auntie Jan

    Absolutely……Five Little Luxuries indeed! Toothbrushing: After running out of minty toothpaste on “Yer Old Great Auntie’s Greater Adventure to Utah” I (the old great auntie of which I speak) grabbed the baking soda out of the camper cupboard. Positively addicted. Teeth are squeaky clean, tummy is sans gas. Cup of Tea: Soothing, especially with a large dollop of honey and a squirt of lemon juice. Tea is my life’s blood. No wonder I’m a failure at donating to the local blood center. Daily shower: I guess I’d have to opt out of daily. If I “dailyed”, the state fair would be after me with a large net so I could be displayed as part human, mostly musky. My skin would have great scales covering every inch… Taking a Poop: Now we’re talking! There is nothing better than a daily BM. It’s especially good if you can make it to the bathroom on time without……well…..you know. As one gets older one may have more issues with minor slippage. Eating: Mmmmmmmmmm. Show me a girl with Jewish ancestors and I’ll show you a girl that loves to “fress”. “Fress” is a lovely Yiddish word that means eat. But not just “eat”. It means to eat with great gusto, to enjoy every morsel put upon the plate, to stuff oneself fully and then, when the matriarch of the family says “Do me a favor, eat something,” go back for at least two more helpings. I am a fresser at heart. And that takes me right back to #4, Taking a Poop, doesn’t it?

    Reply
    • Ohh Auntie! Yes, I agree with the showers bit. I’m every other day. Any more and I go full reptile, any less and I go full-on rancid. Poor Teenage Telea and Body Odour! As far as eating, the best meals of the day are all 13 meals of the day, right?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

