Laziness and Writing Prompts from English Class


So, I’ve been doing a TON of writing for my Creative English class that I decided to take this year. Within three days of starting the class, I already feel at least three times more awesome about my writing, and four times more awesome about my mojo, but that’s completely class-unrelated.

Since I’m tired, and my fingers are tired, and everything is just tired, I thought I would talk a little bit, and then share with you a couple of pieces that I’ve written, and if you’re really nice, you could tell me what you think?

Okay, so we’re going nix on the stories of the Ren Faire, though I do talk about it every day, and I still have a bit of an accent. Let’s just say that it would have been everything I had hoped and dreamed for, had it not been for the fact that I was accompanying a shopaholic and all we did was go to store after store after store.

By the end of the day, my feet were sore and dragging, and my spirits would have been higher had I actually had the opportunity to flirt with the 5 (hundred) guys that had eyed me up and tried conversing with me. It’s whatever though, it was still a good time, and I got my fill of Beer Cheese soup in a Bread Bowl and Taco Bell (The Taco Bell on the way home, come on, what were you thinking? Ye old Taco Bell?)

I shall now proceed to make you gasp with awe at my ‘Pen is Mightier than Sword’ writing talents.

Prompt – Take this sentence and make it Show emotion through 1-6 paragraphs, not tell it. Don’t use the sentence in your writing. He was always there for me.

Once, when we were young, I fell out of a tree and broke my leg. While we waited for the Ambulance, he held me close to him and whispered reassurances into my ears. “It’s going to be alright,” He always said. “The angels are watching over you.” His large, rough hands clasped onto my small, soft ones a

s I screamed my dismay to the sky. As we grew up, our relationship stayed the same. He would always show up at just the right time, appearing seemingly out of nowhere to wipe my tears or simply spend time tossing a baseball with me. His eyes always sparkled with kindness, and his smile lit up my world like a Fourth of July Firework Show. When he would go away for a long time, I would cry every night, fiercely praying that he would come back, and he always did. He would have the craziest postcards delivered to me, saying outlandish things like: ‘Dearest Elsie, a day will come when your soul shines brighter than the moon. P.S, you can borrow my flashlight until then. Love, David.

Years passed, we both aged, but he grew old. His breaths came in wheezes now, his eyes more dull than I had ever seen. One day, my mother called me. “David has fallen sick, and will be hospitalized. I’m afraid he doesn’t have much time left.” She forced out through tears. A week later, he was admitted to a hospital near to where I lived, on his request, so that I could see him. Our lives had taken over, and we hadn’t talked in months, but as soon as I gazed into his eyes, the connection we had sparked again. “Hey, Elsie.” Was all that he could choke out each day, but we communicated through looks and eyebrow raises, the way we used to. On the day he died, I was with him. He weakly smiled and winked, breathing out a few words. “Remember what I told you, okay?” Through gasping sobs, I managed to reply. “It’s going to be alright,” I whispered. “Angels are watching over you.”

 
BOOM! Emotional headshot, right? RIGHT!
 
Now, I must go do other things, I promise to have a promising blog post for tomorrow…or the day after; I babysit tomorrow.
 
Love ya!
About mylifeinheartbeats

Telea is an aspiring Musician who spends too much time aspiring to be a Writer who thinks she's a Comedian. There's not much more to know, except for everything. Telea has a tendency to not think before she speaks or acts. She enjoys chocolate, long walks on the beach, and talking about herself in the third person. She wants to get to know you, so please send her your Name, Address, and SSN. Telea promises that, though she has indeed committed one count of Lewd and Lascivious behavior (to be tried under a court of law), she is a good person and will not intentionally harm you/expose herself to you/hate you for your stupid perspectives/axe-murder you. Telea believes in the greater good, Nutella, peace, free love for all, and snuggles. She chooses Bacon over you, unless you come bearing bacon. She is a fat woman trapped inside a curvy woman's body. She is not for sale unless the price tag you put on her has something to do with world peace. She will sell herself for world peace. She hopes in the deepest of her heart places that you will enjoy her blog and find reason to follow it. Telea thanks you.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Telea, Your blog is fun! (I found you through charliecountryboy.)
    Love your spunk and fire 😉 Looking forward to reading more of your posts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

