Demo Derbies and Oh God, It’s September (Sad Face Implied)


It’s Labor Day weekend, which is always a time of great hustle-bustle and merriment in these parts. The back to school shopping is, for for the most part, done. The end of summer cleaning has happened. Most students are back on campus for college. Oh, and it’s the last hurrah for end of summer beer drinkers to unite and do something really boring and stupid, like build cars just to crash them into one another.

Tonight, I went to the annual Demo Derby to watch just that happen. Now, on most years, I had the added pleasure of watching the people throwing their cans and knowing that I was going to be the one picking them up at 5 in the morning before the Horse Pull. This year I just got to sit back (though I don’t believe I sat down even once) and relax. 

What I witnessed was incredible. But more in the sense of the word where one questions: who would do something like this…ever? It’s more of a time to go see your friends or get roaring drunk on large quantities of low quality beer. Of course, I was going for the former reason, but I was rather disappointed.

Though many of the people I would call friends were there, very few of them looked at me or so much as gave any signs that I existed. It was a rather odd feeling, just being alienated like that. I did get to see a couple of people that were very happy to see me as well, but mostly, I was the outsider.

This has much to do with the school mentality. If you’re not one of them, you’re no one at all. As of three days ago, when my Virtual Education approval came through, I was no longer one of them. It’s okay, though, I kind of came to terms with that a long time ago.

Also, this boy Tyler, who I very sadly liked for a while, was there. I mean, he’s gorgeous. Tall, dark wavy hair, snake bites, abs, and super easy on the eyes. But he walked up to me, smiled, put his hands on my hips, looked deep into my eyes and just when I was getting dizzy with ooey gooey hot boy looking at me-ness…he asked me when I was going to blow him. Or, more specifically, when I was going to give him ‘Road Head’. Kids these days, right? I promptly pull away from him and walked away.

The really depressing thing about tonight was seeing this guy. His name can remain undisclosed, but I liked him, and he liked me. Then his dad shut off his phone and it was pretty much like he was MIA. Today is the three week anniversary of the day he said he would call me. Tonight, I saw him, and just as I was going to approach him, a gorgeous brown-haired girl skipped up to him, planted a kiss on his lips, and locked her fingers with him. They then shared nachos and smiled and laughed a lot.

He and I only hung out a couple of times, but this is one of the first times a boy has made me feel this sad. Usually, I’m the stupid one, breaking up with a guy because even though I really like him, he’s too quiet, or laughing during a phone break up with a guy who said he would love me forever (I don’t regret the breakup, just the means of the breakup).

So, here I am in overtired, guy problems land, and I’m feeling as blue as someone choking on a grape or catching hypothermia. It has not been a good day for your dear Telea Dodge.

Tomorrow will be better. Tomorrow I am spending 16 hours at the fair, and going to a street dance. I hope to see people, go on some rides, dance a little, and try to put all thus glumness in a little corner where it can’t get me for the day. Someone promised they would be there, and I’m trying not to get my hopes up for fear of being disappointed.

Anyway, it’s getting late, and I need to wake up early. Goodnight dears, I hope your Labor Day Weekend is absolutely fabulous!

Love ya!

About mylifeinheartbeats

Telea is an aspiring Musician who spends too much time aspiring to be a Writer who thinks she's a Comedian. There's not much more to know, except for everything. Telea has a tendency to not think before she speaks or acts. She enjoys chocolate, long walks on the beach, and talking about herself in the third person. She wants to get to know you, so please send her your Name, Address, and SSN. Telea promises that, though she has indeed committed one count of Lewd and Lascivious behavior (to be tried under a court of law), she is a good person and will not intentionally harm you/expose herself to you/hate you for your stupid perspectives/axe-murder you. Telea believes in the greater good, Nutella, peace, free love for all, and snuggles. She chooses Bacon over you, unless you come bearing bacon. She is a fat woman trapped inside a curvy woman's body. She is not for sale unless the price tag you put on her has something to do with world peace. She will sell herself for world peace. She hopes in the deepest of her heart places that you will enjoy her blog and find reason to follow it. Telea thanks you.

Leave a Reply

