Let Me Down, Because it’s Trending


There’s a very interesting lesson you can learn if you pay attention. If you’re an average looking eighteen year-old girl with a few friends and a few mistakes.

Or if you’re anyone else at all. Other than a superhero, a celebrity, a person with a lot of money, or a hermit.

If you sit back and listen closely, you can hear the faint sound of disappointment. Oh wait, I take that back. Everyone can hear it, save for the people who have stopped expecting things, hoping for things, dreaming of things etc.

It’s everywhere, and incredibly prevalent in everyone’s every day lives. It’s one of those things that can be as tall as a mountain or as tiny and a flea. It can start as you noticing that your best friend took three hours to text you back about plans that were supposed to happen two hours ago, and end up as you noticing that your fiance has taken the car, siphoned all the money out of your bank account, and sold your house.

It can be crying over spilled milk, or sobbing as you wake up in the hospital without your legs. Any way, no matter what the situation, a million tiny (or very large) violins will begin playing for you, and it will be the sad, bitter tune of disappointment.

What can you do when you’ve been disappointed? Do you get up and move on, or do you cling to it? How many times is enough times to be disappointed by someone, something, or yourself?

How many chances should people get to prove that they are reliable, or good friends, or anything?

I guess other people are wondering that as well, and using me as a test subject. I guess that’s why we’re not supposed to stay up cashing in our bad luck, eh? Because for me, I always blame this on myself.

Oh, he bailed on me because I’m not interesting enough. I must be so boring that after seeing me, he cries himself to sleep.

Oh, well, it’s okay that they decided to go to that last-minute party instead of hanging out with me. Maybe if I had thrown a party, or simply thrown money at them, they would have reconsidered.

Oh, no, don’t worry about me. I made backup plans because I knew you weren’t going to pull through. It’s my fault, forgive me?

When am I going to tire of this sado-masochistic tendency of mine to actually expect things from people? It’s no good. It will just end up getting me hurt.

Oh wait, I already am.

Love ya!

About mylifeinheartbeats

Telea is an aspiring Musician who spends too much time aspiring to be a Writer who thinks she's a Comedian. There's not much more to know, except for everything. Telea has a tendency to not think before she speaks or acts. She enjoys chocolate, long walks on the beach, and talking about herself in the third person. She wants to get to know you, so please send her your Name, Address, and SSN. Telea promises that, though she has indeed committed one count of Lewd and Lascivious behavior (to be tried under a court of law), she is a good person and will not intentionally harm you/expose herself to you/hate you for your stupid perspectives/axe-murder you. Telea believes in the greater good, Nutella, peace, free love for all, and snuggles. She chooses Bacon over you, unless you come bearing bacon. She is a fat woman trapped inside a curvy woman's body. She is not for sale unless the price tag you put on her has something to do with world peace. She will sell herself for world peace. She hopes in the deepest of her heart places that you will enjoy her blog and find reason to follow it. Telea thanks you.

One response »

  1. Chin up. I tend to fine you know who your friends are when you go through a particularly tough time & they’re there for you. Those who aren’t can still be friends, but you find out who you can count on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

