Music, Food, Music, Frustration, Music


As you can see, I’m very in the music mood today. A lot of my day has consisted of trying to learn specific things on the piano and teach myself a song to surprise a friend.

This is a song said friend loves very much, and for good reason, and she herself has learned to play it rather proficiently on her guitar. Now, the surprise is that I have been working on the vocal harmonies and trying to learn it on the piano so that we can duet and duet hard, if you catch my drift.

Now, when I try to learn a song on the piano, I become obsessive to a point of craziness and frustration. When I mess something up, I run a scale and then start over. When my mind loses the tempo, I youtube the song and repound the tempo into my brain.

The problem being that it still takes some time to learn because guess what? I only took five years of piano lessons, and my teacher was a super-mega-technical woman that beat my love of piano right out of me for a while.

But, I recovered, and though I did learn from her, many people who take three years of piano from other teachers are at the same level as I am, just because she was like one of those Catholic Nun Teachers who swatted your hands when you didn’t get something right or sometimes even started crying.

She hated expresson. This woman believed that when you played a song on the piano, it should be played at the exact cadence as the book said, with the notes being exactly what the books said they were, no longer, no shorter.

Don’t get me wrong. She herself was excellent at piano, but it all sounded rehearsed and lifeless. When I make music, I want it to come alive, to make my audience really feel what I’m trying to play. That’s why I didn’t get as far as I should have and why I’m paying for it later.

Anyway, back to the grind, as Ebony and Ivory are calling my name oh-so sweetly and gently.

Love ya!

About mylifeinheartbeats

Telea is an aspiring Musician who spends too much time aspiring to be a Writer who thinks she's a Comedian. There's not much more to know, except for everything. Telea has a tendency to not think before she speaks or acts. She enjoys chocolate, long walks on the beach, and talking about herself in the third person. She wants to get to know you, so please send her your Name, Address, and SSN. Telea promises that, though she has indeed committed one count of Lewd and Lascivious behavior (to be tried under a court of law), she is a good person and will not intentionally harm you/expose herself to you/hate you for your stupid perspectives/axe-murder you. Telea believes in the greater good, Nutella, peace, free love for all, and snuggles. She chooses Bacon over you, unless you come bearing bacon. She is a fat woman trapped inside a curvy woman's body. She is not for sale unless the price tag you put on her has something to do with world peace. She will sell herself for world peace. She hopes in the deepest of her heart places that you will enjoy her blog and find reason to follow it. Telea thanks you.

Leave a Reply

