We are young, we just don’t need to be reminded constantly.


Have you heard the song ‘We Are Young’ by Fun? Of course you have. With over 40,000,000 views in the four short months it has existed on Youtube, you can only assume that it’s been heard. Also, as a fact here in Wisconsin, it happens to be played on the radio every three songs or so…you know, to mix it up.

I first heard this song two weeks ago. I know, I know, I’m behind the trends and stuff. That happens when your mind ages faster than your body. The first time I heard it, I fell in love with that man’s voice and the nice little vocal runs that he incorporated into the chorus. Of course, it was hard to tell exactly what he was talking about, but the general message seemed to go something like this:

“We’re still young, so let’s go do crazy shit together, and I promise that at the end of the night, I’ll take care of you.”

It’s a nice message, it is. I like how he’s incorporating the value of youth with the responsibility of friendship. It’s like one of those old PBS shows that actually taught kids some moral values. But.

But but but, and one big however.

Very similar to when you say your name over and over again until it doesn’t make sense, listening to this song this many times makes me forget my moral values and want to spend my time being young on finding and killing that man…then I can spend my sad old days in a prison or on death row somewhere.

Actually, I don’t want to kill that man. That man (still without a name, since I’m lazy) is an awesome vocalist who has taken the world by storm, much like I aspire to do. Who I really want to murder is what ever crazy bat decided that music on the radio was not intended to have any variation at all. It’s redundant in its beats, and when a song does happen to be anywhere near original (compared to other music, not as a singular entity), it gets overplayed until you’re practically on your knees begging for the old redundant shit.

To conclude this topic, the music world, though bright with rising stars who actually have the capacity to take the future in their hands (ohhh, was that a self-referral?), is being shot down by the corporate music entities who don’t give any shits about anything but money.

Now, I am going to get this day over with (while listening to ‘We are Young’), fix my Prom dress (while listening to ‘We are Young’), and then go have a brill weekend at Prom (Where they will probably play ‘We are Young’). I shall prolly post once tomorrow, and then I can’t really guarantee anything for the rest of the month…as I’ll be stone dead tired.

Love ya!

About mylifeinheartbeats

Telea is an aspiring Musician who spends too much time aspiring to be a Writer who thinks she's a Comedian. There's not much more to know, except for everything. Telea has a tendency to not think before she speaks or acts. She enjoys chocolate, long walks on the beach, and talking about herself in the third person. She wants to get to know you, so please send her your Name, Address, and SSN. Telea promises that, though she has indeed committed one count of Lewd and Lascivious behavior (to be tried under a court of law), she is a good person and will not intentionally harm you/expose herself to you/hate you for your stupid perspectives/axe-murder you. Telea believes in the greater good, Nutella, peace, free love for all, and snuggles. She chooses Bacon over you, unless you come bearing bacon. She is a fat woman trapped inside a curvy woman's body. She is not for sale unless the price tag you put on her has something to do with world peace. She will sell herself for world peace. She hopes in the deepest of her heart places that you will enjoy her blog and find reason to follow it. Telea thanks you.

7 responses »

  1. Only heard it 3 times so I’m still liking it & turning up the volume when it comes on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

