“Censorship Is Never Right.”


Today, my dear friends, I have some really exciting news. Last night, as you probably know if you follow my blog, I attended my Solo Ensemble, which was held at my own High School last night. Tons of schools were in attendance, and it was generally a good time. After bombing my first piece (A Class A duet with Alice…we got a 2), I then got a break before doing my Italian Solo. I’m pleased to say (Pleased, no, ecstatic. No…fucking legitimately horrifically excited) to announce that I will be attending State with that Solo. Immediately, I had to change into my Musical Theater garb and head down to Site 11 to perform an excellent rendition of ‘Just You Wait’ from My Fair Lady.  I’m fucking legitimately horrifically excited to say that that piece also become State worthy.

I’m going to State with my two Solos. I couldn’t be happier about this. But, of course, I knew I would…because I’m hella talented at singing. After that, I had to rush down the hallway, tearing off my clothes as I went, to get to my next piece, which was a Class B Duet with my friends Courtney and Brianna. We got a 2 on that piece as well.

Overall, including the parts where I pronounced my undying love for stranger or made confessions of carrying their children…it was a fanfuckingtastic night. We are going to change the subject now.

My friend Cody, who is a total baller, is fighting one of the teachers about censorship. He likes using lewd language, as most teenagers do, and he doesn’t understand why we should be censored. There’s no meaning behind any words unless you put meaning behind them. He feels like his character is being threatened by being censored in such a way.

We’ve talked about internet censorship before, but we haven’t spoken of censorship in the real world, and this is what I am here to discuss with you right now. Right or Wrong? There are arguments about it being okay because there are topics that would be fairly offensive to others if brought up. But, since everyone gets all in a tizzy about different things, then we shouldn’t talk about anything.

List of 3 (What? I’m Lazy) Reasons (and their counterparts) Why Censorship Should (or should not be) banned (and the counterparts to the counterparts).

1. Freedom of Speech. ALWAYS it has been stated that we have the right to use our words in a way in which we deem fit. It’s completely up to our own consciences and our social barriers to choose appropriate conversational topics.

Back when they made up that rule, people were raised in a better way, a way in which they spoke lightly and evenly and were brought up to know the difference between right and wrong when discussing tender subjects.

Well, oil me up and wrap me in sheepskin, I think you’re hearkening back to the days when it took five hours to travel ten miles. It doesn’t matter if the rule was made back when cavemen still didn’t understand what a rock could be used for, it still exists now, and for a reason. It’s the responsibility of the person in question to decide what they and others find offensive, not the responsibility of school boards, work places, or churches.

2. Interesting debates. If all subjects including offensive material are banned from conversation, how are we supposed to broaden our horizons and expand our minds and all that bullshit?

Well, you could discuss Socially acceptable topics, like world history, or politics. You don’t need to breach offensive topics that could give you a bad name.

What I just can’t seem to get is why some topics (i.e Sex, drugs) are more acceptable than others (i.e the massive, disgusting and torturous killing of entire religions/races during WW11). So, who decides this? Sex can be a beautiful thing, and it has been proven through some psychological study that if you’re a teenager and you spend gobs of time talking about sex and making inappropriate jokes about sex, you’re probably not getting any. This kind of discussing shouldn’t be looked down on, it should be supported full-heartedly, for the parents. Instead of protecting our children, let’s expose them to information so detailed that it almost illustrates what Nazi Scientists did to the still-living bodies of hundreds of children.

3. Racial Sensitivity. As in, why is there any? Why can’t we just get over shit and call people whatever we want? I’m not saying to walk down the street calling every African-American a ‘Nigger’ or every Chinese person a ‘Chink’, but I’m saying that some topics here in America that are found socially acceptable are things that you would never even think to bring up in other countries. For example, we can bad-talk our President without getting killed.

There are racial boundaries for a reason. As Americans, we believe we are more educated, more intelligent, more talented, and stronger than other countries. We’ve proved that we think we’re superior by budging into other countries’ business on almost a monthly basis instead of minding our own balls.

I think you’re running short on arguments, evil version of Telea inspired by the internet. The simple fact of the matter is that though we can openly discuss the Holocaust and what happened and lay blame on Germans without feeling any remorse at all, we would not broach that topic in Germany without fear of getting shot. If we break down the barriers and just let censorship float away on the wind, then people can actually become educated on their own about what to say and what not to say.

It is not the right of anyone to tell us what we should or should not say. We have our own words and our own definitions. The fact that anyone can exert power as a superior is morally disgusting to me.  Think about it.

Love ya!

About mylifeinheartbeats

Telea is an aspiring Musician who spends too much time aspiring to be a Writer who thinks she's a Comedian. There's not much more to know, except for everything. Telea has a tendency to not think before she speaks or acts. She enjoys chocolate, long walks on the beach, and talking about herself in the third person. She wants to get to know you, so please send her your Name, Address, and SSN. Telea promises that, though she has indeed committed one count of Lewd and Lascivious behavior (to be tried under a court of law), she is a good person and will not intentionally harm you/expose herself to you/hate you for your stupid perspectives/axe-murder you. Telea believes in the greater good, Nutella, peace, free love for all, and snuggles. She chooses Bacon over you, unless you come bearing bacon. She is a fat woman trapped inside a curvy woman's body. She is not for sale unless the price tag you put on her has something to do with world peace. She will sell herself for world peace. She hopes in the deepest of her heart places that you will enjoy her blog and find reason to follow it. Telea thanks you.

Leave a Reply

